MONEAGUE COLLEGE HONOURS STAFF Three retirees and staff who served 10-15 years recognized at banquet


Several of the guests at the Moneague College Awards and Recognition Banquet
Jacqueline Thames, Vice Principal at the Moneague College giving the Principal’s remarks
Howard McCalla, Lecturer at the Moneague College (left) making a presentation to the guest speaker, Elaine Foster-Allen after her presentation
Denise Murphy, Lecturer in the Department of Language Arts (left), presents retiree Nerissa Walker with her citation for serving the college as a cook, from August 2000 to 2018.
Nicola Maxwell-Johnson, Lecturer, Language Arts Department, (left) presents retiree, Carlis Sittol with her citation award. Mrs Sittol served on the school board from 2004 as a lecturer with special emphasis on literacy.
Mark Reynolds, Lecturer in the Department of Humanities, (left) presents citation to retiree, Pauline Nugent for her service to Moneague College, from September 2007 to December 2017.
Dr. Phylicia Marshall, Assistant Chief Education Officer, Tertiary Unit, Ministry of Education, Youth and Information (left) making a special presentation to Chairman of the Board of Management at the Moneague College, Leon Gordon.

It was an evening of fun and professional camaraderie for the Moneague College as the institution honoured several members of staff at their Awards and Recognition Banquet at the Club Hotel RIU Ocho Rios, on Thursday, October 25.
The glamorous evening saw lecturers, students and several distinguished persons coming together to pay tribute to retirees and members of staff of the Moneague College, St Ann, who had served the institution for ten to fifteen years. The function commenced with master of ceremony, Delroy Williams who interacted with the guests in a very jovial manner. He made the opening remarks, followed by the invocation which was done by Michael Foster, a lecturer at the institution.
Leon Gordon, Board Chairman at the Moneague College gave a warm welcome to everyone with special recognition to the three (3) awardees who have retired from the institution. He commended them for their outstanding contribution to the College and to nation building.
Principal of the Moneague College, Howard Isaacs was unavoidably absent due to illness. The college is giving prayerful support as he recuperates. His daughter Davita Isaacs, represented him at the function.
A special item was done by Wayne Clarke, a lecturer at the Mongeaue College, whose melodious rendition was thoroughly enjoyed.
Jacqueline Thames, Vice Principal at the Moneague College spoke about the tremendous growth of the institution over the years, and the contribution made by the retirees and other awardees. She congratulated them and wished for them, a happy and relaxing retirement.
Lecturers, students, retirees and guests were feted to a delectable meal, prepared by the RIU staff, as they listened to renditions by the Moneague College ensemble.
Dinner was followed by tributes from persons representing various stakeholders in the education fraternity. Keith Rowe, Justice of the Peace gave his remarks on behalf of Custos of St Ann, Norma Walters; Sophia Forbes- Hall, represented the Ministry of Education Region Three; Glen Haven, the CCCJ; Devon Meek, the JTA Regional Office North East and Tousean Williams on behalf of the Guild of Students at the college.
The guest speaker for the evening was Elaine Foster-Allen, former Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Education and past Principal at Shortwood Teachers’ College. Mrs Allen congratulated the retirees and all the awardees that made and are still making a vital contribution to the education sector. She highlighted the importance of service and accountability within the educational sector, with emphasis on the systems in place to facilitate such.
Mrs Foster-Allen was presented, with a gift basket by Howard McCalla, Assistant Dean in the School of Humanities.
All three retirees had the opportunity of listening to their citations being read, after which they were presented with a citations by representatives from the Moneague College. The three retirees are: Nerissa Walker, employed at the college from August 2000-2018, as a cook; Carlis Sittol employed by the college in 2004 as a lecturer with special emphasis on literacy, and Pauline Nugent who worked from September 2007to December 2017, as a lecturer in the field of Social Sciences.
All three awardees were delighted and grateful for the College’s full support for them, as they transitioned into retirement. Mrs Sittol responded on behalf of the retirees and thanked everyone who supported them.
The college also showed appreciation to members of staff who have served the institution for ten to fifteen years. These included: Audrey Issacs, Kenice Harvey, Keisha Edward-Hamilton, Simone Reid-Williams, Villina Bedward-Hamilton, Jamel Laing, Kayreen Evans, Fitzroy Edwards, Joseph McKenzie , Mervin Howard, Donald Jones, Sherlon Black, Terrence Lawrence, Glenworth Johnson, Turnel Campbell, Carol Reid-Sawyers, Natalee Nembhard, Muffet Forsythe-Llewellyn, Nicole Betton, Andria McLeod, Serene Allen, Shadea Lewis, Sandra Murphy, Jacqueline Haye, Buddia Thompson, Camille Warren-White, Bridgette Flowers, Jacqueline Williamson, Sandra Brown, Dahlia Pryce, Howard Isaacs, Kivory Edwards, Anthony Gidigah, Desmond Campbell, Howards McCalla, Clement Baxter, Nigel Nelson, Andre Grant and Everton Walker.